What is Dark Journey About?


The First Layer...


Dark Journey is a multi-layered series exposing the darkness of crimes against children in this world, on it’s base level. But it is so much more than that…

Triggered, Book One, wakes the male and female protagonists, Will, and Julie Annalise, to the horror that she was sexually abused as a child. The awakening is triggered by the investigation of a child homicide where the victim has apparently gone through a similar ordeal. As book one progresses, it becomes clear Julie’s father not only abused her, but trafficked her as a teen, bringing child sex trafficking in as another layer to the series.

When Julie’s father is found to be involved in murder on the opposite coast, Will and FBI agents involved, notice occult aspects to the crimes. By the end of the first volume, it’s clear Julie’s Father practices evil on a deeper plane.


Layer Two...


Another layer of the series involves the spiritual journey of Will and Julie Annalise from dark to light. They were both raised with the spiritual dichotomy of Druidism and Judaism, to varying degrees, following the ways of their ancestors. However, Will, beginning in Book Two: Blood Ties, recalls warnings by his grandfather about teaching that weren’t just errant, but were skewed with a seduction intended to keep family and community members deceived. Without exposing detail, I will reveal that this five volume series concludes with Will and Julie Annalise completing their spiritual journey from darkness to light. 

Isaiah 9:2 "The people walking in darkness
have seen a great light;
on those living in the land of deep darkness
a light has dawned."


A Deeper Dive...


Originally written as five volumes (I may expand to six), Dark Journey parallels real life evils in this world through fiction, exposing how deep, prevalent and far-reaching, crimes against children are. By focusing on the struggle of one family, I hope to make real in the mind of the reader, the awful truth so many turn a blind eye to. Those who do, perpetuate the evil by not speaking against it. Remember the word of Einstein: 

“The world is a dangerous place to live, not because of the people who are evil, but because of the people who don't do anything about it.”

The Dark Journey Series isn’t all doom and gloom… far from it. Though marketed as psychological thrillers, the works are actually fact-paced mainstream/mixed genre containing humor and romance, the importance of family and friendship, and  more. The books do contain many shocking scenes that boarder on horror. My advice to readers who may be squeamish is to simply skip those short scenes and read on, since all information contained within will eventually be revealed in pieces. The scenes are present to show the realistic emotions of victims and their loved ones. To sugarcoat them, in my opinion, would diminish the pain and suffering victims experience. Again, readers, feel free to skip them. But for those brave enough to try, you’ll gain a deeper understanding of what the life of a victim can be like. 

Another layer to the Dark Journey series is the message of hope in healing. Survivors of childhood abuse, rape, and sex trafficking never ‘get over’ what they lived through. They do, however, heal at a pace unique to them, with many finally coming to a peace that allows them to move forward into light, putting the darkness further and further behind them. 

I hope you find the Dark Journey series interesting, detestable, full of love and hope, and thought provoking. But most of all, I hope this work of fiction gives you a better awareness of the journey many are forced to make, a journey we can only pray, finds them rescued from darkness so they can pursue the light.